Scanning with XSane

I have been trying out a bit of scanning using a combination of GIMP, XSane and my Canon Lide60 Scanner.

building
A building in Berlin

I have got quite a few pictures from my recent trip to Berlin.   As they were taken with a Holga it means that they need scanning which is where XSane comes in handy.

I prefer the flexibility of XSane compared with the basic windows driver that comes with the scanner.

It will autoajust Gamma, Brightness & Contrast for the area selected and it makes quite a good job of this, but I tweaked the grey point slightly on the histogram so it’s not so dark.

screenshot-histogram-lide-60004

My prints are all 5×5 (inches) so I preset the scan area for this size.

screenshot-advanced-options-lide-60004

The preview area I selected 18×13 (cm) as this is the smallest preview area that covers the entire print as there is no point in doing a preview scan of the whole platen area.

Leave a Reply

